top of page

MY MORNING SKINCARE ROUTINE


Mala's morning skincare routine
Mala Diaries

Hi my loves! Thanks for stopping by! Today I am sharing my very extensive skincare routine with you :)


I would advise anyone to build and maintain a skincare routine as soon as they can BEFORE the lines, spots, wrinkles, etc., starts to set in. This way, they will be in prevention mode and not doing damage control like I am. It was until those pesky fine lines started to sneak in that I realized that I needed to up my game. My research into skincare products also led to me creating my Clay Mask, see here.


This post will be followed by an evening skincare routine post. This is what I do every morning, no matter if I am at home or on vacation. I would show up at sleepovers, camping, weekend getaways with my skincare kit....yes, I have a kit lol.


MORNING SKINCARE ROUTINE

(Click highlighted links for the full product description).



Clean & Clear Morning Burst, Oil-Free, Facial Cleanser
Clean & Clear Morning Burst, Oil-Free, Facial Cleanser

Step 1- Cleanse

I wash my face with this cleanser from St. Ives. In the mornings I just need a gentle cleanser, something to give a fresh look. If my skin looks red and needs a boost, then some mornings I apply this mask.





Sonoma Naturals Witch Hazel Toner
Sonoma Naturals Witch Hazel Toner

Step 2- Toner

Yes, toners are very important. DO NOT skip on this step. I use this one that I found at Winners.

Toners help balance the pH level of your skin, tighten pores, and even help your skincare to better penetrate the skin. Try to find one without alcohol, those can be harsh on the skin.





SkinInc My Daily Dose Of Uplift Serum
SkinInc My Daily Dose Of Uplift Serum

Step 3- Serum

After the toner is dry, I apply this serum that I discovered from Boxy Charm. Serums should not be replaced by moisturizers. Serums are lighter and thus; absorbs quickly into the skin. They contain ingredients like retinol, Hyaluronic acid, Vitamin C and E, Peptides, etc.




Dr. Brandt Skincare C Scription™ Vitamin C Brightening Serum
Dr. Brandt Skincare C Scription™ Vitamin C Brightening Serum

Step 4- Vitamin C

Vitamin C is an antioxidant; it protects skin cells from damaging free radicals caused by the sun. It also promotes collagen production, diminishes fine lines, and firms sagging skin for a youthful look. I use this one from Dr. Brandt. See a more affordable alternative below.





Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Supercharged Complex
Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Supercharged Complex

Step 5- Eye Cream

I got into the eye cream game so late, and it shows. For a long time, I scrambled to find an effective eye cream. I was an eye cream hoarder until I found this one. Eye creams soothe the eye cream, reduces puffiness, improves dark circles and under-eye bags, and helps to prevent and reduce fine lines and wrinkles. See a more affordable alternative below.





The Ordinary Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3%
The Ordinary Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3%

Step 6- Antioxidant

For this step, I use resveratrol, this one from The Ordinary. Resveratrol is a polyphenol extracted from the skin of red grapes. It is an anti-ageing powerhouse. It works on a cellular level to fight ageing and neutralizes free radicals that can damage the skin. Studies were done on fruits to show how resveratrol was used to slow down the spoilage process.




Step 7 (final step)- Moisturizer

I use this moisturizer that has a 45 spectrum of SPF. NEVER omit SPF from your skincare. I am not a fan of applying sunscreen over my skincare, so I always look for moisturizers that contain sunscreen.

In the cold months, I use a thicker, more hydrating moisturizer.


Helpful Tips:

I always let my skincare sit and soak into my skin for a few minutes before I apply my makeup.

Try to always stick to your skincare routine no matter how tired or pressed for time you are.



So that's it guys. That's my current morning skincare routine. My routines changed as I find new products that works for me. See my previous morning routine video below:




Disclaimer: This article is not meant to promote "purchase pressure". The products shown here were all purchased by me and NOT sponsored by anyone/brand. This article is based on products that I bought because I find them effective. What works for me might not work for you.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page