top of page

My Ginger, Cardamom Chai Recipe

Updated: Nov 30, 2020


Ginger Cardamom Chai
Ginger Cardamom Chai

I grew up watching Indian movies, and there were always scenes of someone ordering, serving, or drinking chai, so obviously I had to try it.


Advertisement. Click for more details.



I started buying chai in the form of teabags, then powdered, but it was until a friend made chai from scratch for me that I realized how much better it was. Of course, I took her recipe and tried it myself, and over the years, I added and removed ingredients until I arrived at this recipe. I called this "MY" recipe because I tweaked it to suit my taste. It's not complicated and doesn't require a lot of ingredients.


I usually average the quantity of my ingredients, but for the sake of providing a good recipe, I will add measurements.


You will need (you can increase or decrease to your liking):


For one serving


2 cups milk (I use almond or oat milk).


1 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated ginger (you can use powdered ginger, I never did because I feel that it wouldn't taste the same).


1 1/2 teaspoon grounded green cardamom or 4-6 cardamom pods.


1 1/2 tablespoon loose black tea/ tea leaves, or 2 black tea bags.


2-3 star anise (optional).


1 stick cinnamon (optional).


Honey to taste.







How to:


Add the milk, ginger, cardamom, star anise, and cinnamon to a small saucepan. Bring to a boil on medium heat.


Add the black tea to the saucepan and reduce to low heat. Let simmer for 2-3 minutes, stirring occasionally.


Remove from heat and leave to cool (not cold).


After cooling, strain the chai into a coffee mug and add honey to taste.


Stir and enjoy.



Disclaimer: I am not a chef. The measurements and ingredients of this recipe were customized to suit my taste. This is my personal recipe and it was not copied from anyone.




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page