top of page

Menstrual Cups...Yay or Nay?


How does it work? When do you change it? How long can you wear it? Why is it better than tampons? Can you wear it overnight? Does it leak? How do you clean it? Yes, I had questions too.


Let's start from the beginning. There is a lot of buzz about Menstrual Cups. Many of my friends have made the switch and were determined for me to do the same. "Don't you care about the environment??", "You're wasting money"....and the list of guilt remarks goes on.

Yes, I care about the environment and, yes I love saving money. So, why was I hesitant? Well, I wasn't too keen on the idea of emptying a CUP of gelatinized menstrual blood. I couldn't wrap my head around the idea of yanking a full cup of blood out without causing a spill.



This is the part where I should warn my squeamish readers! The topic of menstrual blood will be coming up more than once below. If you need to pause and go put on your big girl/ boy panties before returning to this article, feel free to do so.


I decided to do a trial run, so I bought a DivaCup and hoped for the best. It took a few tries getting it in 😊 All you do is fold it, stick it up there, and it pops open....the cup does 🤣

It is not as hard as you may think; all the instructions are on the package. Basically, the cup forms a seal and safely collects the blood. You just insert it like you would a tampon that didn’t have an applicator. To make sure it’s sealed properly, you can pull down on the stem a tiny bit to ensure it pops into place.



FIRST IMPRESSIONS

First and foremost. EMPTY IT IN THE TOILET, and NOT the sink! Imagine washing all that menstrual blood down the sink, trying to get it off the sides...no thank you!


I wasn't a fan of emptying it; however, once you get the hang of it, it's not so bad.


It was SO.MUCH.BLOOD. I wasn't prepared.


Was it comfortable? Yes! I couldn't even tell it was there. I pretty much did anything I wanted, and it didn't budge. It was a nice change from having to remove blood-soaked tampons a few times a day, I only emptied the cup twice!


It was nice not having to sneak tampons to the washroom and having to discard that blob of mensural blood for someone else to dump.


OMG and have you ever had that scare where you are heading to change your tampons only to realize that you forgot them at home?? Or having to change them in a public washroom that has no disposal bins? Look at you walking around with that bloody mess in your purse.


The cup is more of a "set it, forget it" kinda thing as it holds a lot more blood than a tampon, so I just carried on with my day without stopping to worry about my period.


Am I converted? Yes, I am now the proud owner of several cups and wouldn't be going back to tampons. Imagine how much easier travelling while on your period will be!

How to use.


Instructions said that you could wear it for 12 consecutive hours, depending on your flow. It should be emptied, washed and rinsed a minimum of two to three times per 24-hour period. The first day I wore it, I checked my underwear every hour. I was worried about overflowing, spills, and leaks, but none of that happened! Blood is liquid. I imagined it would splish and splash around as you walk, causing leaks...it was indeed sorcery.


To insert

Before your first use, boil your cup for 5-10 minutes. Wash your hands before inserting. Relax, because being tense can cause the muscles to tighten, making it difficult to insert the cup.

Make a U fold by pressing the sides of the cup between your fingers.

Stand with one leg up on the toilet and gently insert by pushing the folded edge of the cup horizontally in your vagina.


To remove

Most cups have a stem you can use to pull it out, but I think it’s easier to pinch the base of the cup (which breaks the seal and releases the suction). Empty and rinse with hot water and mild soap. Do not use soaps with harsh chemicals that may irritate down there.



After your period: Sterilize it in boiling water for a few minutes and store it in the little bag it comes with.





Benefits of a Period Cup compared to Pads and Tampons


Better For The Environment

One cup replaces a year (or longer) worth of pads/ tampons. Imagine all that waste for an entire year!


Easy to Use

The package gives you all the details on how to insert and remove the cup. Simply empty the blood into the toilet, rinse and dry the cup and reinsert.


Non-Toxic

Tampons are full of chemicals. There are claims that these chemicals can enter your bloodstream and create a host of problems. There is some debate whether this is true or not, but why risk it if there is an alternative.


No Bulky Pad

I started my period journey with pads, bulky pads. It's like walking around with a small pillow between your legs...ugh.


No String!

No gross soggy string peeking from your underwear or swimsuit. As someone who drinks a lot of water, peeing constantly was not fun with that string there.

No Leaks

The cup creates a suction that seals and prevents any leaks.


Underwear Savior

No more blood-stained, ruined underwear.


The cups come in different sizes and brands. I personally like the DivaCup Model 2. This caters to a heavier flow, which works for me. There is also the Lena Cup which I will be trying soon.


WHEW! That was a lotta period talk for one day. Do you use the cup? Are you thinking about starting the cup and have questions? Comment below and let us discuss it!


Tip: Change the cup while you’re in the shower. Put one leg up (you know you did it before😉) Any spills will be easily washed away.




Disclaimer: Make sure the Menstrual Cup is right for you before you start using it. Talk to your doctor if you're not sure. Google is also a good source for information on this topic. I am not a doctor. This article is based on my personal experience. What works for me might not work for you.


This information is not intended to diagnose, treat, or cure any diseases.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page